Becoming One With Myself

Julie  is a survivor of multiple sexual assaults, a warrior, and a dear friend of mine.  She wrote her  account of what happened to her in  her book,  “The Boulders In My Life That Shaped My Journey.”  www.thebouldersinmylife.com  Also she wrote the following poem called Becoming One With Myself:

“Learning to become one with myself
Has been a long grueling process,
I have worn many masks along the way,
Tried to fit into what other people expected me to be,
Wanted me to be,
Tried to ignore the feelings that are deep inside,
Tried to ignore what has happened in my life,
But along my healing journey, I have learned that what happened to me
Was not my fault, It’s their fault,
They committed a crime and tried to destroy me,
But instead they have turned me into a warrior,
It’s my greatest challenge to not let them ruin my life, to take my power back,
And the gift that this healing journey has given me,
Is made me into the person I am today.

Learning to become one with myself means that
I accept what has happened throughout my life,
To make who I am today,
I do not like that I had to go through all of the trauma and pain,
But now I am a person that can read other people, pick up
On things that are not said, more compassionate,
With other people can understand what others cannot,
Because they have not been there,
Am able to listen and be there for myself and others.

I am starting to live the life that I have
always dreamed of,
To be the person that is inside,
To see the person that my friends and family see inside of me!
To be the warrior that I have become
To keep raising my voice and speak for those that are not
Able to speak yet!!”

Julie is willing to help other people by sharing what happened to her and wants to start a non profit called Serenity Camp that will help survivors of sexual assault, rape and Post Traumatic Stress. Here is a link to the video that she made for Serenity Camp https://youtu.be/jRdiY1crkt0.

Also she is wanting to help other survivors to take Nia training’s such as white belt, green belt, blue belt, brown belt, and black belt.  Last year, Julie found Nia last year by looking on the One Billion and Rising website. She was looking for an event in the Triangle area, where people were coming together to dance Break the Chain and standing against sexual assault and rape and  found that there was one near me.

She  had no idea what to expect and did not know what Nia was and had never have heard of it.  She walked into the studio and met all of these lovely women that were excited about dancing and made me feel welcomed. The music started and she started dancing. Immediately, she realized that she had come home and that Nia was awesome. Nia has helped her to be able to feel. It has helped her to come back into her body and helping her to heal on a deeper level. Nia is teaching her that she does not need to leave her body. It’s teaching her that she am safe to feel what she needs to feel and to express what she am feeling. Most important, it is doing what therapy has not been able to do and allow her to excess feelings that I just cannot talk about.

She took Nia White belt in July at Joy of Movement with an awesome trainer. That was an awesome experience because by doing white belt she  developed a relationship with her body. She is no longer ashamed of her body and she loves her body.  Julie learned where  she holds feelings and memories from the trauma.  She has learned  to be more accepting and loving towards those parts.  She realized that she is all about the base and loves music that has drums.

In September, Julie took Green Belt with a awesome trainer and that helped her to understand the music better and how to move her body. Once again,  she developed a sense of her body and where she holds memories at. Julie learned how to listen to the music and to que on the three to six. Julie learned to just try and that she does not have to be perfect.
Julie loves Nia. Nia is helping her to heal from Post Traumatic Stress. It’s helping her to be able to feel feelings that have been locked inside. It’s given her sisters and friends that truly care about me and she cares about them. It’s helped her to have a relationship with her body and to start to love her body.

But she needs our help to support what she envisions.
Please contribute to her cause as a thank you for her honesty, compassion, and activism.

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

