Co Creation of routine Steppin In

From December to the end of January, I have been working on creating a dance routine with my mentor. It all started when I was listening to music and decided to approach my dance instructor and friend. We listened to the music together and she told me that I had found some very powerful music. That is when we started to create our routine called Steppin In.

The great thing about this is that it gave me an outlet for the pain and anger that I was feeling. Also, it helped me to get back into the 13 principles of Nia White Belt and gave me a way to embody the principles. I started to learn how to count music and how to bar the music. Also, I started to learn the choreography to Earth Song that was created by Carlos Rosas.

The playlist for Steppin In is:

  1. Silence  by Vargo
  2. Are you Here? Dave Stringer and Joni Allen
  3.  Fight Song     Rachel Platten
  4. Free                   Shannon Day
  5. Here For You        Kygo
  6. Get Back To Serenity  Vargo
  7. I got wings                Cynthia
  8. There’s no time like now        Utopian Sounds
  9. Healing the Heart      Parijat

 

Nia has helped me to feel and has helped me to heal. I have learned where I hold the trauma in my body. Also, I have learned that is okay for me to cry and talk about how I feel.

 

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

