Nia White Belt Poem

Nia image

On a journey to come back into
my body and love my body
after being detached and dissociated for a long time
by taking Nia white belt and dancing,
Learning that it is safe to be in my body
To stay in my body
To feel different parts of my body,
Learning that I can love my body,
That I can stay present in my body and
That I am safe.

Sitting on the floor,
My knees are hurting so bad,
My ankle is hurting so bad,
My lower back is hurting,
Because I am coming back into my body,
And my body has held the all of the trauma’s there,

It’s not that I am pushing myself,
It’s that my body is responding by
Bringing the trauma pain to the surface,
Sometimes have cried during white belt,
Sometimes start to cry when I am in my car alone.

Use Arnica Montana gel to calm my body down,
Massage my knee and ankle,
Massage my lower back,
Talk to my body telling my body
That we are okay, that I am safe
That this is healing
That it is safe to come back into my body
That I am in a safe place and supported
That it is okay to feel whatever I need to feel
That I am listening to what my body is telling me
That I love my body
That I am here to protect myself

I understand where the pain is coming from
And I will address that by talking with therapist
Dance is good for me
My body has held all of the trauma’s inside
And now is the time to take even better care of myself.

Take Epsom salt baths,
Go to Reiki,
See therapist,
Stay in the level of movement that I need for that dance
Finding joy of movement
Letting the tears come

I love my body.
I am safe.
I can heal myself with self-love and touch.
I am a warrior goddess
I will take care of my body and myself.

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

