What happened to me at the University Of

I was 18 and excited that I was graduating

From high school and had choose a university that

Was two hours away.

I was trying to escape from myself and

Did not realize that wherever I went there I was.

 

I had three roommates and lived in a coed dorm

It was October and I decided to stay on campus

For the first time on the weekend

Because I wanted to know what happened on the weekend.

 

There was a party and everyone was drinking,

It was the first time that I had ever drank,

I was drinking Hawaiian punch and Kentucky Vodka

Just like everyone else

The room started spinning,

I became a social butterfly and was talking to everyone

 

My roommates where jumping from room to room,

Then I was told that my roommates went down to the

First floor.

I took the elevator down

And knocked on the door

 

This guy told me to come in,

Next thing I know is that he is undressing me,

He is touching me and I am on my back,

I did not want to have sex with him or his friend

They were raping me

 

When they got done I got up, got dressed and could not

Find my bra,

They kept my bra as a trophy,

I was sobbing and went upstairs,

A police report was made,

Went to the hospital and the nurse did the rape kit

I was sobbing and was so scared.

 

The next day, had interview with another police

Officer.

She looked right at me and told me that I deserved

To me raped by two men

That is was my fault.

 

I went back to my room and climb

Up on my bunk

I cried myself to sleep and slept

For over 16 hours

Once again I was told by society

That rape is fine and that I meant nothing

That men can rape and that I am

Nothing more than a walking mattress that

Deserved to be raped.

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

