21 January 2004: Safety Standdown

This is what happened on 21 January 2004 at a Safety Stand down on Lackland Air Force Base: Naval Training A school.

January 21, 2004,

Dear Journal,

The chain of command at Naval Training command Lackland is having a safety stand down. During the safety stand down, they were covering the topic of alcohol, rape, and it was very victim blaming. I could not sit still and kept on going out into the hallway. One time, a Senior Chief followed me and told me that I had to be in there. I told her how hard it was for me to listen to this and I was very upset. She walked me back in and sat down next to me. She told me that I had to sit there the reminder of the time.

I was so close to sobbing and was hurting so much. I cannot believe that I am being treated like I am the one that committed a crime. I was raped. I did not ask to be raped. I cannot believe that this happened. I feel so alone. There is no one that I can talk to.

I have been thinking about leaving the base and never coming back. I called my SAVI advocate tonight and told her that I wanted to start going to the Rape Crisis Center in town. She told me that she will make this happen. Then she told me in order to go to the Rape Crisis Center, I have call a cab and go after 1600 to 1700.

 

 

 

 

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

