Shut Up and Listen To Survivors

This poem needs to be read and reblogged. Some stories need to be told and this is one. Society needs to wake up and realize the affects of rape on a person. Being a child, should not involve being raped and told that she deserved it. Going to a university should not involve being raped and having a police officer tell you that it was your fault when two black men raped you. Serving your country, should not involve being raped by own service member, chain of command retaliating against the survivor, having your career ruined while they protect the bastard rapist and promote him so he can continue to rape over and over again.

Healing from Military Sexual Trauma and Post Traumatic Stress

You were not there when I was eleven years old

And a friend forced to have sex with him

You were not there when he threatened me and

Told me that if I told any one that he would kill me

You were not there when my mom told me to

Just forget about it and move on

You were not there when two black men raped

Me in a dorm room,

You were not there when a police officer looked at

Me and told me that I deserved what they did because

I was drinking underage and the two men had

Every right

You were not there when I went upstairs

And wanted to jump off of the building but

The stairs were blocked with a locked gate

You were not there when a friend took

Me in the bathroom and raped me

You were not there when my…

View original post 620 more words

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

