Shut Up and Listen To Survivors

I wrote this poem after being really angry and wanted to tell my story. I am sick of people ignoring survivors of childhood rape, molestation, university rape, Military Sexual Trauma/Rape, and rape from human trafficking. I am sick of Politicians ignoring us when we have sent them thousands of emails, called them, tweeted them, went to there offices and told them our stories over and over again. I am sick of people saying rape is sex. Rape is not sex. Rape is violent act against a person’s will enforced on them by another that takes what was not offered to them or they wait until the person passes out and then takes what the person has not consented to. I am sick of people saying that rapists are more important then survivor. I am sick of people saying that growing up involves being raped. I am sick of people saying that part of an University education know involves one to be raped. I am sick of people saying that serving this country involves being raped, betrayed, retaliated against, and then thrown away like a piece of garbage. I am sick of hearing people that have no clue what rape is like when they have never been raped and do not know. I do not want to hear a damn thing from you until you have been raped, had your life torn apart, deal with flashbacks, nightmares, depression, suicidal thoughts, self harm, have been betrayed, told to just get over it, watched them do nothing even after bastard admitted to it in an email, saw them promote him and send him to another A school so he can continue to rape. Was told by police officer that,” You deserved to be raped because you were drinking underage and the two black men that raped you had every right to. Then later told by NCIS Special Agent,”We do not care what he said to you in email. We have to know who all you have slept with and about any other reports you have ever made.”

So in all of this anger I made this video. Also, one of my friends posted this today. “Your voice is a voice for others a voice for me, a voice for my daughter. A voice for so many of us. I feel sad that you or anyone would have to go through the pain you did and the pain you continue to go through.Your voice and sharing is breaking the silence and is an opportunity to educate others. We do need to listen. We do need to hear what’s happening in our military to females and sometimes even males.”

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

