How they do nothing

In this short blog today, I am going to talk about how I have felt since NCIS did nothing even after the bastard that raped me admitted to it.

In 2011, I had an account on Navy together we served. I received an email from the second class petty officer that had raped me. In his email he said a lot of things and I took my time deciding if I was going to reply to his first email. In his email he said, “So you remember how…lol….You are such an ugly woman. I do not even know why I messed with you. Taking a woman is something that I am down with. ” He admitted to raping me and I contacted NCIS. They sent a special agent to come talk to me at a police station. We met and she took my statement. She told me that they were reopening the investigation.

About a month went by and I received a telephone call from her. She told me that I was lying and that they were going to investigate me. They had to know who all I had slept with and about any other reports I had ever made. I became enraged, was crying, asked her what in the hell that had to do with what he admitted to and then I threw the phone across the room. I was sitting on the floor, by my closet and I just totally lost it. I was sobbing and could not believe this shit. He admitted to raping me and NCIS, the chain of command was still going to protect his ass.  Then find out that he is the Sailor of the Quarter and has gone to fleet week. Then find out that they promoted him. So committing rape is worthy of being promoted?

I had no idea what to do next and I was finishing up my final semester of college. I started having a really hard time concentrating, was afraid, started having nightmares and flashbacks. I started to feel suicidal. Once again, I felt so betrayed and could not believe this. I could not understand why they were protecting a rapist, why they were calling me a liar, and that is when I decided to contact a Senator. Also, found out that Lackland Wilford hall had lost my rape kit and medical records.So where is my rape kit? Is it in some damn government record room to never be tested?  I found out that the Naval command at Lackland’s Naval Training Command had lost the investigation records and that they really never did an investigation. I sent my service medals to Rep Speier, the Senate Armed Forces Committee and got involved with Protect R defenders and Service Women’s Action Network.

Today, all of this still affects me. I am sick of the Department of Defense protecting rapists, and allows rape to continue to happen. I am sick of having a Senate and House that does nothing about rape. I am sick of politicians making great speeches but then they do nothing but protect rapists.  I do not understand why NCIS would do nothing even after they have evidence where he admitted to it. Why is rape allowed? Why do they care so much about damn rapists?  Where does rape come into the core values of Honor, Courage, Commitment?

 

 

 

 

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

