Reported Rape at University of Cincinnati

In 1997, I was raped by two black men at Daniels Residence Hall at University of Cincinnati. I went to the hospital that night, had rape exam done and then went back to my dorm room. The following day, I went over to talk to Campus police. I talked to a female police officer and she told me that I deserved to be raped by them because I had drank underage.

After she said this comment, I walked out of the police station and walked over to my barracks. I climbed up into my bed and cried myself to sleep. The following day, I was being moved to another Residence Hall on the other side of campus. I was told that I had to go to see someone in psychology and they gave me a mental evaluation. I asked why they were doing this and they said to make sure that I did not have mental issues. After this I went back to Residence Hall, went upstairs, went to where the stairs were at and tried to get up to the top of the building. The stairs leading up to the roof were locked. I got so mad and just sat down on the stairs and cried. I wanted to jump off of the top of building and end it all.

I became really upset over the next couple of weeks. I stopped going to classes and every time I ate, I vomited it back up. I was afraid to walk across campus because I was afraid that I would run into them. I started having nightmares and could not sleep at night. I did not trust any one on campus so I decided to take a bus to the rape crisis center in Kentucky. I started to talk to a counselor and I was so angry. The police officer that I had talked to made excuses for the two bastards that raped me. She told me that, “I deserved what they had done because I was drinking underage.” So two men have the right to rape me? I did not want to have sex with them. So rape is not against the law? So it is fine for two men to just take me when I want no part in this?  To this day, I have not forgotten that lady police officers name and I never will forget her name.

I did not attend the University of Cincinnati to be raped. I went to the University of Cincinnati to get an education. I was wanting to go into Social Work but all of that was ruined when two bastards raped me and the University protected two black men. They should have to pay me since my education was put on hold and I withdrew from the University.  Who wants to attend a University that protects rapists and tells you that you deserved to be raped by two black men? How are the two black men not held accountable for breaking the law? How is the University not held accountable for defending rapists?

 

 

 

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

