I Believe in Myself

believe-in-yourself-and-all-that-you-are-300x273

One thing that is has been bothering me since last night is when I reached out to a friend thinking that she would be supportive. Instead what I got was the cold shoulder and I do not think you are ready to take a step to share your poetry, video’s, book at a public event. I know that I am still healing. I know that some days are a challenge for me. I know that I am a lot stronger then people believe I am.

Since Summer 2012, I have been advocating for the Military Justice Improvement Act. I have written my story, tweeted, contacted Senators/Representatives, called and sent my service medals to Representative Speier. I believe that I can handle reading my poetry to people in a public event. Yes, it will be hard. It will probably be emotional for me, but I am sharing my truth. All that I have asked for is support. I do not need someone telling me that I am not ready to do this.

I get up very morning fighting my demons, Post Traumatic Stress and on good days I handle it very well. I am sick of people that know nothing about PTS judging me and I will continue to speak out and tell my truth. I advocate every day by keeping my blog going, tweeting, my author page on Facebook.  I will continue to speak out and I am going to do my first live event. I believe in myself

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

