Mighty Blue Heron

 

First time I saw you,

I was kayaking on a lake

I came closer to see what you were,

You looked prehistoric to me,

You were camouflaged on the tree branch

That had fallen into the water,

I looked at you and saw how magnificent you are,

I paddled closer to you and you took flight,

I watched you fly across the lake with your mighty wings.

I was amazed with your power and beauty.

 

The second time I saw you,

I was kayaking down the Potomac River

You moved your head and watched me

Paddle down the river,

You let me know that I was not alone,

You let me know that it was okay for me to

Tell my truth.

And you were protecting me while

I was on an intense healing journey,

As I paddled down the river more,

I watched you take flight and you flew past me,

Once again I am in awe of your beauty

 

I saw you three times this past year,

You were my spirit guide as I

Was an on spiritual, journey,

You let me know that I was not alone,

You let me know that I was safe to feel my feelings,

You let me know that I am on the right path

And that I am not alone in this healing.

You are there was I am coming home into my body,

And continuing to heal.

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

