Shut Up and Listen To Survivors

I will keep posting this until people pay attention to what I wrote in here. This is a poem that needs to be read by everyone.

Healing from Military Sexual Trauma and Post Traumatic Stress

Shut Up and Listen to Survivors

You were not there when I was eleven years’ old

And a friend forced me to give him oral sex

You were not there when I was choking and crying

You were not there when he forced himself on top

Of me and did not care that I was crying.

You were not there when he threatened me to kill me and

My family if I told

You were not there when my mom told me to

Just forget about it and move on

You were not there when two black men raped

Me in a dorm room at the University I attended,

You were not there when a police officer looked at

Me and told me that I deserved what they did because

I was drinking underage and the two men had

Every right to rape me

You were not there when I…

View original post 937 more words

Author: shellback0608

Julie "Jewels" is an Author, Poet, Nia Blue Belt, Green Belt, White Belt dance instructor, Reiki Jin Kei Do Energy Healer, and advocate. When she is not writing, you can find her learning new Nia routines, listening to healing music, taking photographs, playing with her dog and spending time with her friends and family.

Leave a Reply

