Chronic Ankle pain tied to what happened at University of Cincinnati


This is the first time in a long time that I have wrote about this. I graduated from high school in 1997 and went to the University of Cincinnati. I went there because I wanted to be far from home and I was trying to escape myself. I did not realize that where ever I went, there I was.

I lived in a Coed Dorm called Daniel’s Hall. Usually on the weekend, I would go home but this one weekend I decided to stay on campus over the weekend. It was October 17, 1997. I had three other roommates and that night we all started partying. It was the first time that I drank. We were drinking Kentucky vodka and Hawaiian punch. I started to get drunk and started to talk to people easier. My roommates introduced me to this black man.  He started talking to me and I started talking to him.

During the evening my roommates disappeared and I was told that they went down to the first floor. I got in the elevator and went down to the room that I was told my roommates were at. I knocked on the door and the guy that was up in my dorm room answered the door. I asked him, if my roommates were there. He told me that they were not but invited me inside. I walked in the room and there was another guy sitting on the sofa. They asked me to sit on the sofa. The next thing I knew they were touching me, took off my clothes and were touching me again. I did not want to have sex with them and they took times raping me. When they were done, I got dressed. I could not find my bra and they kept that as a trophy.

I went back upstairs, tried to find my resident advisor but she had went home for the weekend. I went downstairs and they called campus police. The campus police arrived and took me over to the University Hospital. The nurse performed a rape kit and called someone to come from Women helping Women. I did not want to talk to the woman and did not. The police took me back to the Residence Hall. I went up to the room and took a shower. Then I went to bed.

The following morning, I went to talk to a police officer. She  told me that the two black men had every right to rape me because I was drinking underage. I just looked at her. Once I was done, I walked back to my Residence Hall and got into bed and slept for 16 hours. The following day I got up and I wanted to kill myself. I was being told that they had every right to rape me because I was drinking underage. How in the hell did that make what they did to me okay?   I fell apart. I would try to eat but everything I ate got vomited back up. I could not concentrate on my school work. I was always looking over my shoulder.

I was raped by two black men. I did not ask to be raped and was being told that I deserved that by police officer. I have not and will not ever forget that woman’s police officers name that told me that. She defended the bastards that raped me.  In January, I fell down the stairs going to class and broke both bones in my left ankle that required surgery. Know all of the trauma has gotten stuck there.

I went to University of Cincinnati to get a degree not to be raped and then told that two black men had every right to rape me. I ended up leaving the University and they never did anything two the two black men. I bet that my rape kit is sitting in some lab in Ohio and has never been tested.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chronic Pain and healing my ankle


For the past three days, I have been healing my ankle and trying my best to breathe into the pain. My day consists of getting up, taking ace wrap off, putting my foot in cam boot and moving around a little. Next I take dog outside, bring him back in, and then sit in chair with my ankle up. I am really trying to be gentle with myself while I am healing but this has been hard on me.

Last night I was talking to a friend and she reminded me to breathe into the pain and let myself feel. I looked at her and told her that I did not want to do that. She gently reminded me that feeling is the only way to heal and the trauma is held in my ankle. The trauma from when I fell on the stairs. The trauma from the surgery. The trauma from the next surgery. The trauma from when I was raped has gone to my ankle. I do not understand that, but I know that it is true. I do not need to understand why. All I need to do is continue to allow myself to heal and to let the tears come out.  I am feeling really vulnerable with this. I hate being vulnerable because I am afraid that I will be hurt.  Again today, I am finding myself wanting to be held and to cry.

One thing that I do not handle well is emotional pain and physical pain together. I guess this is another freaking growing opportunity but I hate it. I do not want to be still. I want to go dancing. I want to stay busy so that I am detached from myself. This is making me be still and to be honest with what is going on inside of me. I hate living with Complex Post Traumatic Stress.